BLOG . SCAM SITE BLACKLIST

LifeLock Identity Theft Prevention - Save 10%
 

This Grant Scam Site Blacklist accompanies the Grant Scams Blog

If you are a victim of one of these grant scam sites and have something to say that may help / inform others please leave your comments under the specific article.


Usfinancialresources.com

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Site Info:
Domain name: usfinancialresources.com

Related domain names: securepaysystems.com (url:https://www.securepaysystems.com/offers/usfr.html)

Type: Grant Scam Merchant that bills your credit card

Whois information: private registration, but here

Location info from contact us page:
871 Coronado Center Dr.,
Suite 200,

Henderson,
NV 89052

Contact Info Listed:
866-549-6225
support@usfinancialresources.com

Fine Print:
10 day trial : $1.87
Recurring monthly fee after trial period ends: $59.95
'Bonus' Charges: none listed in terms

Other info:

This is one of the only grant scam sites so far that does not list a 'bonus' signup with recurring fees, and the only one reviewed so far that more or less clearly (bold, capitalized) states in the terms:
"I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS CONSUMER TRANSACTION INVOLVES A NEGATIVE OPTION, AND THAT I MAY BE LIABLE FOR PAYMENT OF FUTURE GOODS AND SERVICES UNDER THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT IF I FAIL TO NOTIFY THE SUPPLIER NOT TO SUPPLY THE GOODS OR SERVICES DESCRIBED."
While I applaud appreciate can agree to the fact that this does make the 'terms of service' more or less compliant with FTC guidelines and regulations regarding 'negative option' marketing, I won't go so far as not to list this site among all of the other grant scam sites on the blacklist. Why? Because it is still a scam. Oh, and
"The initial fees for the CD and first 10 days are not cancelable nor are they eligible for refund."
In short, you can't cancel during trial period and thus will always 'eat' the $59.95 for a 'membership' while
US Financial Resources makes no guarantee that you will receive a grant from any of the organizations listed in our directory. Our information, grant specialists and other staff make every effort to prepare you to make the best possible match and application for your grant purpose, but there is no guarantee of receiving any funds. US Financial Resources does not directly issue grants and provides information for solely for educational purposes.
Why not just call it snake oil?

Another interesting thing; their 'membership site' login page looks like this:


Not very interesting in and by itself, but now look at this 'membership site' login page from 'grantconsultant.com', one of the grant scam sites operated by Efamily Media Ltd in the UK:


In case you can not compare the images side by side, the text is exactly the same. It really makes one wonder what the connection between these companies is...

14 comments:

Anonymous said...

They just attempted to scam me on 6-10-09 at about 5:30 pm in the exact way described above. She said her name was Sandra Gomez, but she didn not sound like she had a Latina accent but an accent from India or elsewhere.

Anonymous said...

I fell for it and got a cd from them. How do I get my money back and stop further billing fron this scam?

Anonymous said...

i just got scammed from them on 12-2-09 talked to them on the phone and told them i will be in contact with them with my lawyer they said there is no need for that and refunded me 59.95 which according to them it should be back on my credit card in 5 business days if not i will take legal matters they are a scam i highly advise to stay away from this website

Anonymous said...

shoot.....so did i.....hope i can get all mjy money off b4 they do

Anonymous said...

omg that haping to me to i just got the cd i figured when thay charged me 59.99 on my car thats bull shit

Anonymous said...

I was scammed by them a few months ago, and was not told about their 10 day trial period, which doesn't exist. They billed my cc $59.95 2 days after they billed me for the $1.87. When I called them about it, they said after I signed up I only had 24 hours to cancel to not be charged the $59.95. they refunded me only $12.95 and said that is all they can refund me. I called my bank and explained what happened and they got the rest of my money back for me. Now they are calling me from (212)777-3456 trying to get me to pay the $1.87 again for a government grant. When yo call this number back, it is a movie phone recording. Tell them to put your number on their do not call list so they can stop harrassing you. because they will call you at least 10 times a day all day.

Anonymous said...

This site is nothing but a scam, they lied 2 times in the first 3 min of our conversation. I immeaditly called my credit card co. and told them of my situation and to put a stop on any and all attempts to access my account. I have been receiving 8 to 9 phone calls a day.We can't forget the other American laws they are breaking ie.. displaying a ligitament co.'s phone number (movie phone) 1-212-777-3456 (missrepresenting themselves through a registered trademaked co.) These nitwits think they can just rip us off and harrass us by phone and not be punnished? I think they will be very supprised when thier website changes just a little bit in it's verbage and not be able to fix it, all they will be able to do is take it down and redo it, they messed with the wrong geek and now they must pay the price!!!
The King Geek

Anonymous said...

I got a fraud alert from my credit card and it was for a charge of $59 from FUNDING SITE SUPPORT LLC 801-7857005 UT. I never authorized such a charge and contacted that number to find out how they got my credit card number. The company is usfinancialresources.com. The customer service rep said I must have registered and emailed me the info provided upon registration. They had my correct address and phone number, but incorrect email and the IP address from another state. Also the date they said I signed up was impossible because I was at a wedding that day. I have closed my credit card due to fraud and am highly concerned with how this company gets customer info.

Anonymous said...

Well this just recently happened to me, at first I thought it was legit because a couple of months ago i filed for grants for school. They guy kept getting my name wrong calling me Bradly, my name wasnt even remotely close to that. So like a fool I gave them my information, but after a half hour or so I typed in the website and tried to log into their site. Nothing, thats when I looked aroung google and found out it was a scam. So I called my mother to clarify went to the bank, told them what happend and they gave me a temp card and cancled the current one. They only took a 1.98 but that was something I could tolereate instead of the 58 dollars

Nicole said...

These people are a nightmare, they keep calling me and wanted me to pay 1.87 and said I was approved for a loan. I refused and hung up but they keep calling me. Stay away and do not give your credit card to them!
This happened on 6-16-10

Anonymous said...

I get about 6 calls a day from them. I have tried blocking their number. They just keep calling

Anonymous said...

This guy has been calling me for days. 8 to 10 times. The first time I hung up when he asked me for my credit card #. Never give informattion to someone who CALLS YOU. Finally I made up a number. He still calls. I call him sick, racist names. He still calls. He is some middle-eastern dude named Daniel. This guy must be stopped.

Anonymous said...

US Financial Resources is spamming my email address with over 100 emails per day. I've read about others with the same problem. I barely want to open my email program knowing I have to wait for 100's of emails per day from them. Should be illegal. I never asked for them to contact me, and certainly not to this extent.

Anonymous said...

I have requested to be removed from US Financial Resouces e-mail list but cannot get removed by this company. My next stop is the Feds.

Post a Comment